Basic jump statements in Python

Basic jump statements in Python

Jump statements can be used to modify the behaviour of conditional and iterative statements.

break and continue statements fall under the jump statements category.

break statement

  • The break statement, borrowed from the C programming language, breaks out of the current loop when encountered.

  • So, any further iterations will not be executed as the break statement changed the flow of the program by coming out of the loop.

Example:

Output:

Searching...  
Searching...  
Searching...  
Searching...  
Found the treasure

continue statement

  • The continue statement, borrowed from the C programming language, continues with the next iteration of the loop when encountered.

  • So, any code following the continue statement in a loop will be skipped and the loop will continue to the next iteration.

Example:

Output:

Found an even number 2  
Found an odd number 3  
Found an even number 4  
Found an odd number 5  
Found an even number 6  
Found an odd number 7  
Found an even number 8  
Found an odd number 9

Who Am I?

I’m Aswin Barath, a Software Engineering Nerd who loves building Web Applications, now sharing my knowledge through Blogging during the busy time of my freelancing work life. Here’s the link to all of my craziness categorized by platforms under one place: https://linktr.ee/AswinBarath

Join me to learn Python!

Checkout my Python Programming Series where my mission is to share my knowledge on Python: aswinbarath.hashnode.dev/series/python-prog..

Learn what I know about Python from any of my favourite knowledge sources:

Keep Learning

Now, I guess this is where I say GoodBye👋.
But, hey it’s time for you to start learning with your newfound Knowledge(Power)👨‍💻👩‍💻 .
Good Job that you made it this far 👏👏
Thank you so much for reading my Blog🙂.