Python Programming: A Beginner’s Guide

Python Programming: A Beginner’s Guide

Python is an interpreted, high-level, powerful general-purpose programming language.

You may ask, Python’s a snake right? and Why is this programming language named after it?

Well, you are in the right place to discover it!

Why do we need to know about Python?

People prefer Python over French (What!😮)
According to a recent survey, in the UK, Python overtook French to be the most popular language taught in primary schools. (OMG!) 6 of 10 parents preferred their children to learn Python over French.

Check out this post for more info

Source: information-age

Survey: The survey by the Ocado Group

No offence, this survey is just to showcase the popularity and the reach of Python programming.

So hurry up🏃‍♂️🏃‍♀️(or these kids will for sure)! get ready to learn it! coz there’s a possibility of you being hired by one of the companies mentioned below!!!

Big Companies🏢 are using Python

NASA, Google, Nokia, IBM, Yahoo!, Google Maps, edX,
Walt Disney Feature Animation, Facebook, Netflix, Expedia, Reddit, Quora, MIT, Disqus, Hike, Spotify, Udemy, Shutterstock, Uber, Amazon, Mozilla, Dropbox, Pinterest, YouTube, and many more…

Source: Coding Dojo

Real-world applications of Python🗺

\>Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
\>Data Science
\>Web Development
\>Automation/Testing
\>Scripting
\>Web Scraping
and many more…

Source: Google Trends

Why the name ‘Python’?

Let’s start a Flashback tale(Trust me it’s interesting😉). Python is created by a guy named Guido van Rossum. This guy who’s right down there👇.

Guido Van Rossum was looking for a hobby project to keep him occupied in the week around Christmas. He chose to call it Python, coz Guido himself is a big fan of Monty Python’s Flying Circus (a Popular British comedy troupe). So rather than being in an irrelevant mood, he named the project ‘Python’.

Source: Quartz

Hence the name Python was adopted. Well, this resulted in you reading my Blog(Hahaha!), but here’s a fact (Are you ready to be stunned?)

Key Concepts and Topics in Python?

Well, now you may wonder if Python is something worthwhile to know isn’t!

Syntax and Semantics

Control Flow

Data Structure and Algorithms

Check out the blog post Building Blocks of every programming language to know more about these key concepts and topics to master in any programming language.

How & Where Should you start learning?

My favourite courses:-

My favourite free resources:-

Join me to learn Python!

Checkout my Python Programming Series where my mission is to share my knowledge on Python: aswinbarath.hashnode.dev/series/python-prog..

Who Am I?

I’m Aswin Barath, a Software Engineering Nerd who loves building Web Applications, now sharing my knowledge through Blogging during the busy time of my freelancing work life. Here’s the link to all of my craziness categorized by platforms under one place: https://linktr.ee/AswinBarath

Keep Learning

Now, I guess this is where I say GoodBye👋. But, Hey it’s time for you to start learning with your newfound Knowledge(Power)👨‍💻👩‍💻 . Good Job that you made it this far and Thank you so much for reading my Blog🙂.

Bonus Section

‘Your wish is my Command’

I created a sketch of the Python ecosystem because I committed myself to learning Python for Machine Learning and Web Development. And when looking at my sketch, keeps me motivated to learn Python every day and this will help you too.

You can sketch your Goals, your vision, your ambition, and anything that drives you toward Success! and for me, it has helped me push every day to learn and it’s still working. So get a pencil or a pen and start to express what you want to achieve on a piece of paper and stick it in a place where you can look at it every day.

The following sketch is my Visual board, so go on and get motivated.

My Sketch on Python Ecosystem